PDA

View Full Version : Pick Up Your Stones, My House is Glass and Needs Venting

Summonere
02-15-2011, 10:32 PM
Here's a painful thorn in my side. I pluck it out. Steam vents.

I'm a small-timey semi-pro writer with a smattering of forgotten sales under my literary belt, and some time ago wrote a novella that most who've seen it tell me is good, even the editors who couldn't find room for it in their magazines.* I wrote exactly the story that I wanted to tell at exactly the length that I wanted to tell it (this information will momentarily become important, at least in a minor way).

My brother, who once entertained notions of being a novelist and instead became a clinic-owning doctor, asked to write it up as a novel. I said sure, thinking he was in no way serious, and instead bent on goading his not-very-successful-writer-brother into some sort of writing-and-submitting-and-success frenzy.

Oh but meanwhile I lost my job and haven't worked steadily since, instead scratching for work and toiling at crummy jobs with crazy hours while looking for still better employment. So I haven't been writing.

But I have noticed that at least a few writers manage to sell their original or their out-of-print work online, and that novellas are seemingly a good fit for this new medium. Shazam, thought I. Here's opportunity for my own version of that experiment. I'll put that novella on Amazon and see what happens. At the very least it will prove interesting. Maybe fun. Maybe (but maybe not likely) profitable.