• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

Writer's Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlackFlag

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all. This is my first post here and I figured instead of writing a usual introduction thread, I will just go ahead and post here because I have some concerns that I'd like to share with some of my fellow writers.

I'm not a newbie to fiction writing. For as long as I can remember, I always wanted to be a writer. The main reason I wanted to write was because I wanted people to experience what I experienced when I read a really good book. Although my drive for the ultimate dream of becoming a successful writer isn't gone, I am finding it very difficult to continue the way I am.

It seems to me as if writing is a very lonely thing, and to be a writer is to be alone. What I mean by that is that nobody in my life seems to understand what I'm going through or what I'm trying to accomplish. When I find myself sitting in front of a computer for hours at a time trying to write one word, and not being satisfied with anything that comes out, I have to admit, it really sucks. Also, even when I start to get into a rhythm with my writing and I belt out some sentences that seem quite good, I still end up second guessing myself and, in the end, I am unable to really discover whether my writing is good or not. I just don't know.

I have a feeling I am not alone in this regard, which is why I decided to post here. I don't feel like I have any confidence in myself or my work. I guess what I really need is some words of encouragement. In any case, I can't wait to hear what you guys and gals have to say about this.

childoflight

Cat Lady
Registered
Reaction score
Between the sneaky bookshelves of Barnes & Noble.
First. . . Welcome to AW! :hooray: