PDA

View Full Version : On the L - cover critique

BrokenSword
02-09-2011, 03:42 AM
Following up from the original cover critique thread, I've been re-thinking my cover and have some further possibilities which I'd like any and all to weigh in on. I'm posting a compilation that is numbered, so please let me know which is your favorite and why if possible.

Thanks.

Michael aka BrokenSword

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5096/5429597298_3bf05e4f2b_z.jpg

JerseyGirl1962
02-09-2011, 06:41 PM
Following up from the original cover critique thread, I've been re-thinking my cover and have some further possibilities which I'd like any and all to weigh in on. I'm posting a compilation that is numbered, so please let me know which is your favorite and why if possible.

Thanks.

Michael aka BrokenSword

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5096/5429597298_3bf05e4f2b_z.jpg

I'm not a graphic designer, and I don't play one on TV :tongue, so take this FWIW...

#1 - I kind of like this one, but I think the train should be headed straight ahead instead of to the side (like it's headed straight at me). I like the background color but feel it should be a darker color (think: sinister). These two changes would make me think thriller/suspense, and that's what this is, right? I really like the font on this one, and altho the color on your name is a bit hard to read, if you decide to darken the background color like I suggested, this probably wouldn't be a problem.

I'll admit that I don't really care for the pic; the person is too far away. If there's some kind of significance, it's lost on me. (But then again, maybe it's just me, lol.)

With that being said, if you decide to go with the pic anyway, I don't think you should go with the skinny ones, #4 & #6; maybe because it makes the person look even more miniscule than the full-on shot. I do dig the dark marble effect on those covers, though.