"Skip intro": first impressions of agency websites

Chuck Dickens

Registered
Reaction score
What a wonderful forum this is. There's so much information and experience here. You are an admirable crew.

I'm evaluating literary agencies for my first novel submission. A few initial impressions of agencies' websites:

• "Tasha graduated in 2004 with a B.A. in Art History, is looking for YA steampunk": Many agencies display photos of new agents, young people with, one may assume, limited life experience. The suggestion is that these agencies prefer submissions that reflect current trends and fashions. Since I'm a chronologically mature writer whose work, I hope, will be readable ten and twenty years from now, I'm avoiding such agencies.
  • "Skip intro": Flash animation is not really helpful. I always skip the rotating logo, the explosive animation of book covers, etc., and I would guess that most of you do so, too. I think that this is evidence of an agency that is not extremely Internet-savvy, which threw a pile of money at a web developer based on a Flash-ily impressive presentation. I'm avoiding these agencies too.
  • "R___ has a Ph.D. from Harvard...": As a lowly possessor of a B.A. from a mediocre Midwestern U., this agent is clearly out of my league, and knows it. I am very impressed, and will submit elsewhere.
  • "We are not accepting submissions at this time." Why do you have a publicly accessible website?
Thanks for tolerating my admittedly-inexperienced opinions, and thanks in advance for any additional comments.

PinkAmy

New kid, be gentle!
Registered
Reaction score
What a wonderful forum this is. There's so much information and experience here. You are an admirable crew.

I'm evaluating literary agencies for my first novel submission. A few initial impressions of agencies' websites: