Nursing questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saanen

Registered
Reaction score
I have a character in a short story who's a nurse, although she isn't the main character. I just need to know how she would describe herself--at the moment she says, "I'm an RN," but is that correct? She also refers to herself as being "off shift," but I suspect that's not the right way to describe having a certain day off. I don't know any nurses to ask, so I hope the great folks here can help me! Thanks!

Oh, another question: If this character has been a nurse for many years and is very good at it, what are her promotion prospects? I'd like to give her a more specific title than RN, and a position that pays more since in the story she's supporting her husband's small business (which doesn't make much of a profit).

ANNIE

Registered
Reaction score
Hi there, I'm an Rn and yes that's how i refer to myself when someone asks me what I do for a living. When I'm not working it's my "day off" that all I never say I'm off shift.

You can be an Rn for years and years(20 for me) and you NEVER get a promotion. you get cost of living raises. If you want your character to make more money than her hhubby than she would have to be one of three things; a hospital administror RN she would need a masters in nursing for that, Big bucks there, or a CRNA Certified registered nurse anethesiest, or a Crnp certified registered nurse practioner. The Crna would make in excess of 100.000 / year just to start. depends on experience and on where you live.
Annie

Saanen

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks, that's exactly what I needed to know! I think I'll just have her say she's an RN and leave it at that. Thanks again!

September skies

cloud watching
Registered
Reaction score
under my September Skies in sunny California
Website
www.estheravila.com
Hi Saanen,