Hopefully appropriate...

StephD

Registered
Reaction score
I'm hoping against hope that this is an appropriate place to post this thread. If not, I'm apologizing in advance!

I wonder something. Is this a phenomenon that is exclusive to me? A cosmic joke at my expense? Well, I hope not. I hope some of you can commiserate, comment, even offer advice.

Right now, I work for a small town newspaper. I do the typical staff writer stuff. But, the pay is akin to peanuts. I'm okay with that; that's the way any small town publication is going to be. But the job, working as a journalist in any capacity, having a by-line...oh, what bliss! This is soul food for me.

I pursue other avenues of income. I work as a writer for a law firm. I've got another recurring private client for whom I have written small ebooks and articles. I have not made a mint. But a few hundred bucks a month is nothing to shake a stick at either.

I do find, however, a lot of doubtful comments from family members about how much money I earn. In fact, each time a particular relative asks me about my job, th subject of moolah is always mentioned. i'm to the point that I reserve my little celebrations and refrain from commenting on cool things in my world. I feel scrutinized under the microscope so to speak. If I do not make 3k each month I am not a legit writer?

I should add that I am constantly learning as much as I can and pursuing the dream of freelance work for magazines as well. As many freelancers understand, this alone takes a lot of time. I would hate to work it out per hour. I am always busy. But I know that in order to supplement my newspaper income with magazine work, i have to work hard to get there.