Graphic Artist Wants to Know...

Status
Not open for further replies.

ACuriousGirl

Registered
Reaction score
What kind of prices do you usually pay for covers? (I hope that's not too rude to ask! If so, tell me to bugger off, lol).

The reason I'm asking is because I'm a professional graphic designer/web developer, and have been wondering if I should make myself a place in the niche. But I don't really know how profitable it'd be? I wouldn't want to be super expensive, because I can appreciate the self-publisher's tight budget.

Is there any one out there who also does this? Is it worthwhile?

I'm usually hyper-critical of self-published book covers, tbqh. I was lamenting to a fellow pal how simply abysmal some covers were, and sometimes, just didn't do the story justice. I know we all say "don't judge a book by it's cover," but I mean... let's face it. We can't really stop ourselves. Well, she told me to stop whining and put my skills where my mouth is.

And here I am. :D

I don't have any examples of my work. :Shrug: I suppose I'd need to make some attractive discounts (free?) to get my first few covers, so that I can begin an online portfolio.

Anyway, thoughts on the book-cover market? Can I keep my rates attractive and still swing a profit?

Thanks in advance!

Carradee

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Website
mistiwolanski.com
I've not bought any covers, myself, but I know I've seen some people mention what they paid for their covers. I've seen as low as $100 and as high as over $1000. If you search this forum, you should find some quotes of what folks charge. I think about $250 seems to be the norm, BUT bear in mind that I've only paid attention to such comments out of idle curiosity.

ACuriousGirl

Registered
Reaction score
Oh wow, $250? Sheesh, that's almost what I charge for an entire website, lol. Maybe worthwhile after all! Thanks, Carradee.