Need Help Moving a Scene

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hannah

Registered
Reaction score
Hello, I don't normally write fiction (i'm a non-fiction writer), but I started a story about two months ago. The first three pages just came out really quickly, but now one of my characters is stuck in a diner and I can't seem to get her out of there.

Brief synopsis;

The story is a thriller/suspense. In the opening scene, a loud scream comes from an alley in the inner city. Three friends were hanging out on a street corner and heard the screams, but later on, a naked woman with blood curdling down her face ran towards them. One of the women (Lola) noticed that it was their friend, Rachel. She (Lola) sent the other character to a diner to get help. The character walks into the diner, becomes paralyzed with shock, and informs a waitress that her friend needs help. Meanwhile, the other character, Lola, is still with Rachel (the bloody character).

I can't move my character out of the diner or move the scene along. Do you have any tips? :flag:

Last edited:

Hannah

Registered
Reaction score
I'm sorry, that should read: I can't move my character out of the "diner" not dinner.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Have a fat cop be in the diner having coffee and a doughnut (make that three doughnuts) and he grabs the character and tells her to take him to the woman bleeding.

or

Instead of a waitress, have it be a short order cook and he takes the character out with him to see what happened.

or

Just have the woman scream "I've got to go back and help Lola (or Rachel). Please, call the police. Please." and run out of the diner.

ac

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
The character walks into the diner, becomes paralyzed with shock, and informs a waitress that her friend needs help

Okay, let's ask a few "whys" here: