PDA

View Full Version : Research: When to buy and when to google

unruley700
12-22-2010, 11:11 AM
As a fantasy writer, I never thought I would really have to pass too much further than google to find any questions that I might have. But I started a project that feels like I need to have more knowledge than just what wikipedia has to offer.

however, the subject matter I'm looking into is only going to be a secondary arc in a novel in the series.

So when is it ok to stick with internet research and when should I dive into every book and resource that I can find on a particular subject?

I feel like I'm asking a stupid question for some reason. You ever get that feeling? ...Like right before I was about to hit submit I had a second thought. Whatever.

hillaryjacques
12-22-2010, 11:31 AM
If you're trying to create a rich world based on actual science, architecture or mythology, you're going to want as much reliable information as you can get. If you can get that online, then more power to you, but remember that wikipedia and individual sites aren't always verified.

Do what you did as a kid and check your local library. Browse a bookstore. You don't have to throw down chunks of cash. Be selective. Find the key texts that will help you and buy those. Google Books is rumored to have hundreds of thousands of e-books available from the public domain. Maybe see if what you need is there.

Miriel
12-22-2010, 07:41 PM
If you live in a place with a good library, take advantage of it (I've lived in a small town where the library had almost nothing; if this is the case, I'm very sorry).

And I ditto the Google books. I'm reading one right now -- very old book, in the public domain, downloaded the whole thing.

There's a research forum somewhere; you could post what you're looking for and people could give you ideas of where to look.