Becoming a Lit Agent??

Evvie

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.dormroomdreamer.blogspot.com
I hope this belongs here, but I've been wanting to know where and how I can get an internship to become a literary agent without moving to NY. I know there are many in NY, but since I'm still a college student I would like to gain experience at an agency nearby, until I drop everything and take that plunge :/ I'd like a taste. I'm located in FL.

I also wanted to know if there is a career in this industry for those with a degree in public relations/advertising. Other than an agent--perhaps a scout or a publicist?

Any information would be great :) I really love this industry and would love to be a part of it in more ways than one (I'm a writer), but I'm not sure how to go about it.

Thanks!!

Ken

Banned
Kind Benefactor
Reaction score
... an easy enough thing to research. Just look in the Writer's Market Guide To Literary Agents. It's organized by state I believe. If not, it wouldn't be too hard to browse through the listings and find ones in your state. There are probably just a few, if you want to intern at established and reputable agencies. I kinda recall that FL actually has a bit of a publishing industry. So maybe you'll get lucky :)

ps You might also try publishing houses. Good experience, too.

Evvie

Registered
Reaction score
Website
Thanks--I wonder why that hadn't occurred to me...

I did inquire with Brown Literary and Marlene Stringer of Stringer Lit, and Lucienne Diver, but the thing is either they have full-time assistants or because they work out of a home office they can't take on assistants. But looking into publishers is a nice idea! I can probably check em' out in Writer's Market as well.. Thanks :) This is helpful!

Esmeralda

Snowman...on the job
Registered
Reaction score