Starting an epub -- experiences, advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SafetyDance

L'Oreal. He's worth it.
Registered
Reaction score
If I have no success finding an agent for my current project, I will need a home for it. I have a couple of friends who write similar fiction -- good stuff -- and in a discussion tonight, it occurred to us that starting our own epub for it might be an option.

Now. I have no publishing experience. I used to teach English so I'm not so worried about learning the technical side of editing (the market knowledge is a different matter) but that's about it. I've bought some truly awful ebooks lately...hey, if they can do it...

Any experiences or words of advice? There would be a bucketload of research to be done, and I'd be waiting until my daughter went to school next year (I don't work). There's a possibility of harrassing industry people for some work experience (I live near London), should they take people. A friend of mine used to work for Random House so I could see what she could do.

I wouldn't be going into it to make buckets of money. I should make that clear. I am interested as to what people think it would take to cover the costs, though -- in fact, whether it's likely to cover costs at all. What those costs might be, too.

All comments appreciated, even if they're "oh hell, no." :p

amyashley

Stunt-Writer
Registered
Reaction score
Just curious. I know little to be of help. Have you tried any of the e-pub agents in the US? I know this one:

http://www.ampichellis.com/aboutus.html

They are new, eager, and I'm pretty sure they are legit.

and I know this agent:

http://saritzahernandez.blogspot.com/?zx=a2ace9079d0691df

She is def. legit and does erotica too, which I know you write some of.

There are some more here, but I do know that one particular e-pub here is doing advances now, I believe.

Sorry to not be helpful on the business aspect.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website