PDA

View Full Version : Hotwiring a Vehicle

Noah Body
11-23-2010, 06:12 PM
Regrettably, not one part of my misspent youth was spent stealing cars. I have characters who will probably need to hotwire a 2010 Ford E350 van. Anyone know how this stuff gets done? I promise not to report you to the police.

A thousand thanks.

Kitti
11-23-2010, 06:30 PM
hotwire a 2010 Ford E350 van

I don't know about Fords, particularly, but a lot of new-model cars have something called a "silencer" installed by the dealer which basically turns off the car's computer to prevent anyone from stealing it. Don't know if that's a deal-killer or an avenue of weakness for your characters to exploit - I'm not that tech savvy.

Stanmiller
11-23-2010, 07:46 PM
Noah,
Hotwiring alone won't do it these days. Besides the mechanical steering lock, most cars use a key with a chip that responds to an RF signal generated by the car's computer. If the code doesn't match, the computer sounds an alarm and disables the FI system or the starter circuit. So you'll need to either pick a modern car thief's brain or be suitably vague when describing how to beat the coded key.

The steering lock could be defeated with a slide hammer. Dunno if they can still do that or not. But the question should be amenable to properly applied Google-fu.

Stan

jclarkdawe
11-23-2010, 07:57 PM
It's not real complicated. You pop the ignition key lock (which is where you insert the key) out. Best approach is to basically rip the plastic that covers the steering wheel column. This will expose the wiring. One set of wires (positive and negative) are necessary for the vehicle to keep running. Second set of wires (positive and same negative) go to the starter, providing temporary current to spin the starter. Instead of using the key to provide the connections between the wires, you peel the ends enough to expose some wire and connect the wires together.