PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Beta Reader for Contemporary Women's Novel (with Modern Twist)

Napptural Beauty
11-10-2010, 10:23 AM
Hello AW Family:

I'm a newbie here. Well, not really. I've been a lurker (sucking up all the enormously awesome advice here) for over a year. However, this is my first official post.

I am in need of a beta reader (more than one, if available, as I want multiple points of view) for my 109,000-word contemporary women's novel. I completed the manuscript almost a year ago, have done several rewrites over the course of nine months, and had the manuscript read by a handful of trusted readers (whose feedback was incorporated into the many revisions).

Now, I am at a crossroads. I've submitted a large number of queries (approx 50 or so) within the past month. To date, four resulted in a request for the full. I've sent them off and just received the big "R" from one of my top two choices (no decision from the remaining three yet). Bummer, for sure. Yeah, I even shed a few tears out of disappointment. So, here's the thing. The feedback received from the agent was as follows:

"Thank you very much for your submission. It definitely has some high points. However, I think that it still needs some work in order to be publishable. I would suggest continuing to look for outside evaluation through friends, colleagues and writing clubs. Please keep me in mind for future projects or rewrites."
So now I'm a bit confused. I picked very different and diverse readers the first go round, but now it seems the handful that have already read my book were not enough. Let's just say I'm in a horrendous state of self-doubt. I need more feedback and fast. I know my book is not perfect, but apparently there are some more kinks that need ironing out. Hence, my need for H-E-L-P!

Here's a quick synopsis of my book for those of you who may be interested: