Two friends at work....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pookiestoop

Registered
Reaction score
I am writing a non-fiction for a friend who wants to tell his story. I must admit it is an interesting story, although, I am new to writing fiction and I find writing non-fiction in someone else’s voice daunting.

My question for you out there is, how do my friend and me approach a publisher? Do we approach publishers or agents with the manuscript that states, Story by my friend and Written by, me? Do we both find lawyers to help us sort out a contract that will accommodate us both, so that he is paid for his story and I get paid for writing it? We want clarification because as we are both new to this we don't want to make the preverbal "don't work with your friend" type mistake.
Thanks, :Shrug:

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
Hi, Pookiestop!

Well, first you have to decide whether you're collaborating on the story (generally BOTH people are writing it,) or if you're ghostwriting the book FOR your friend. If you're ghostwriting, it's up to the two of you to decide how to play the game. You can either both appear on the cover as you indicated, or your friend is the sole name on the cover and you just get to credit it on your resume.

In either event, YES -- you want to have an agreement between the two of you before you go to a publisher. The publisher is going to want to know who to draw the checks to, so you have to decide whether you want to share the royalties or take a single check from your friend as a fee. It's done both ways.