Querying more than one project--how to handle getting an offer on one?

lachrymal

Registered
Reaction score
I apologize if this question has already been asked and answered. I have been querying project #1 for 5 months. I've sent out 99 queries and I'm done as of 3 weeks ago. Eight agents currently have the ms for #1.

While I was querying #1, I was writing and polishing project #2. About a week ago I sent out a few queries, and I got 2 requests. One of the agents now wants to schedule a phone call for next week (but apart from saying she loved the book and wanted to talk, in her email, she did not say she was offering rep).

So: How do I manage this? Do I immediately offer this agent the opportunity to read project 1 and tell her other agents have it? If she offers rep, do I email all the other agents who have 1 or 2 and tell them I got an offer on 2? Will the agents who have #1 be frustrated with me? Have I committed a major breach of etiquette? I'm interested in being open and honest with all; I'm just wondering about the timing of my communications with all of the agents involved. Thanks in advance for advice!

Uncarved

I aim to misbehave
Registered
Reaction score
Good question, I've wondered this myself.

suki

Opinionated
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Encouraging questions :)

I apologize if this question has already been asked and answered. I have been querying project #1 for 5 months. I've sent out 99 queries and I'm done as of 3 weeks ago. Eight agents currently have the ms for #1.

While I was querying #1, I was writing and polishing project #2. About a week ago I sent out a few queries, and I got 2 requests. One of the agents now wants to schedule a phone call for next week (but apart from saying she loved the book and wanted to talk, in her email, she did not say she was offering rep).

So: How do I manage this? Do I immediately offer this agent the opportunity to read project 1 and tell her other agents have it?