I'm crushed...and my husband doesn't get it.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Faith

Registered
Reaction score
I received the big R on a full that was out to my dream agent. I had really convinced myself that she was the one. I'm not really sure what to do with the information she gave. I appreciate it (of course) but I'm pretty sure the basic gist is that I have a good story but there's something unappealing about the way I write.

This is her reply:

Thank you for letting me read this. It's good -- but not for me. The plot is there, with all the right bits and pieces to make this work, but something in the writing style puts me off. It's a bit too expository for me, and I don't get a lot of tension and emotion from the tone. As an agent, I have to love what I represent to be able to pitch it well. I don't love this. BUT - I do think you will be able to place it with someone else.

I'm so crushed. What should I do? Try to rewrite? Keep sending out submissions? Bury myself in chocolate and self-loathing. Oh, wait - Too late.

I really respect this agent's opinion and if she doesn't "feel it" - well, let's just say that leaves me a bit concerned. I know I should just pick my sorry-ass up by the boot straps and keep moving forward...the glass is half full...tomorrow is another day, yadda, yadda, yadda...I just don't have the energy right now. I feel beaten. I'm not - I know. But right now, I FEEL it. I'm really trying to keep the faith, but some days are tougher than others.

Calla Lily

On hiatus
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.aliceloweecey.net
Welcome. And have some booze. Those kind of Rs suck rocks.

Have you gotten similar feedback with other Rs? If this is a one-off, then let it rest and see what other agents say. I had one agent love my characters and another say they were as boring as beige paint. :)

You had it beta-read before you started querying, yes?

*hugs*

Tasmin21

They will come from below...
Registered