Just offered a Publishing Contract

Shadiyaray

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, I've been searching the threads and can't find anything out about this publisher. They offered me a contract, but I'm concerned with the royalty part. I'm new to publishing contracts so I would greatly appreciate your help with this one. Is 6% off the cover price too low? The royalty part is listed below. I know that there are a lot of scams out there so I wanted to make sure. They seem nice over the email, but I just want to be extra cautious.

The publisher is Secret Cravings Publishings.

Thanks!

SECTION VI. ROYALTY COMMISSIONS
A. PUBLISHER agrees to pay AUTHOR the following royalty commissions:
1. For single author title electronic edition, PUBLISHER will pay AUTHOR forty percent (40%) of the download price for sales of the WORK at PUBLISHER's website, or fifty percent (50%) of net sales PUBLISHER receives if sold through distribution outlets.
2. For single title trade paperback edition if WORK goes into print, PUBLISHER will pay AUTHOR six percent (6%) of the cover price.

thefreshchuff

Registered
Reaction score
I would've thought something around 8 to 10% more standard, but perhaps someone else will know more about this. Did you look up the publisher to see if they're in the Bewares, Recommendations & Background Check section?

Stacia Kane

Girl Detective
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.staciakane.com
40% is pretty standard for an ebook royalty. 6% is a bit low for a trade paperback royalty; those are usually around 8%.

But yes, please check out the Bewares forum and if there is no thread for this publisher, start one.

:)

themanda

waiting sucks...
Registered
Reaction score