Status
Not open for further replies.

JennaGlatzer

wishes you happiness
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jennaglatzer.com
I'll keep you updated here on my talks with Lulu. The communications manager was very enthusiastic and is talking to the financial manager and the president of the company to see how they can help us.

I studied their site and instructions more closely tonight (and I still have a bit to go), but we've run into a few snags...

First, I thought we just needed to pay the $35 for the ISBN, which a kindly donor has already contributed. On closer inspection, it looks like what we actually need is the Global Distribution Service, which costs $150. Here are the details:

http://www.lulu.com/help/node/view/153

It looks like we won't be in Ingram's database unless we purchase that service. I've just written to Lulu to see if they'll waive the rest of that fee; we'll see what they say.

The other snag is in timing. Let's say the book is complete and ready to go on October 10th. I figured I could upload it and it would be available almost immediately. Well, that's half-true-- it'll be available from Lulu's site almost immediately, but it can take up to 6 weeks for it to appear on Amazon and BN.com and in bookstores' databases. So if we get a big publicity push going in mid-October, it could be wasted if the book isn't actually listed as available in bookstores' databases and on the major online stores until the end of November.

I'm going to talk to Lulu and find out how they can help us to possibly speed up the process. This is part of the reason I've been afraid to announce an official release date, though-- there's always something. ;)

IF we can't speed up the process, it looks like the schedule will look something like this:

Sept. 24 - I'll finalize back cover copy.

Sept. 25 - Cover artist will turn in his revised front cover. Last call for edits. (I'm just waiting for 2 or 3 pieces at this point.) I'll finalize intro and acknowledgments.