How do you deal with...?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JayEss

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

I didn't know where to post this one.

I'm an aspiring writer. Can't afford to fuel my passion from 9 to 5 because of a home mortgage and so I am forced to have a crappy day job. Yes, like thousands of other writers out there.

My day job is an easy IT role. No major responsibilities; don't take the work home etc - just the way I wanted it (or so I thought; and I am getting to the point soon) - because I wanted to conserve my brain power for writing after hours.

Anyway, although I will never give up writing, I am lately starting to think that maybe I should be in a more challeging role at work? 'Cause I am starting to say some seriously bizarre things from 9 to 5 which I have interpreted as personal side-effects from being insecure about doing an "easy" job. I don't want people thinking that I am working helpdesk because it's all I can get. Blah. Blah. THERE'S A REAL LIVE BUDDING ARTIST WITHIN. The idea that people are thinking that I am satisfied with my day job hurts my ego. Hehe.

Two questions:

1) How many of you are in a similar scenario? And how do you deal with it?

2) Would you seek a more challenging role and still hope you have the energy to write out of hours? Or would you stay in your current setup and let people question your sanity?

Hmmh. I think this is all about my ego. But I need to hear from people out there. Thanks in advance.

three seven

(Graeme Cameron)
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Personally, I took a crappy job as a security guard and I take my laptop with me every day. I work four 12-hour shifts, during each of which I usually get about 8 hours to write, and then I get four days off. To, er... write.

And to anyone who asks, I say "Yes, it's a crappy, boring job, but I'm getting paid to sit and write and occasionally get off my arse to shout at people, so I really couldn't care less." Works for me anyway.