The Mandate of Heaven

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zoombie

Dragon of the Multiverse
Registered
Reaction score
So, I was thinking of writing a story. I had a few half formed ideas in my brain. Then onto my MSN list comes a feller I haven't talked to for YEARS. Literally, YEARS. We shoot the breeze a bit. And I shoot him my idea of a near future YA set in earth's orbit, detailing a war between factions.

And he goes, "Oh, that sounds neat. Did I mention I'm an expert on orbital dynamics and space warfare? Here is 20 pages of tailor made advice."

And suddenly vague idea turns into 17,000 words written in 4 days :D

When this happens to a book, I say that it's clearly a sign that the book is part of the Mandate of Heaven. Yes, I am a Chinese history nut, why do you ask?

Anywho, have you ever had this happen? If so, share stories about it!

Mr. Anonymous

Just a guy with a pen & a delusion
Registered
Reaction score
the only thing I have to add is that I'm jealous of your wordcount production.

thothguard51

A Gentleman of a refined age...
Registered
Reaction score
Three years ago, I went to the beach with four other couples for a week. We shared a very large house. While there, I planned on doing some writing on a new story I was just starting, if things got boring.

The reality, at night, we partied, but during the day, I wrote in the house while my friends lounged on the beach, sweating and getting sun poisoning. I wrote about fifteen chapters, or 30,000 words. (Very rough draft). The theme of the book was about pirates and the beach atmosphere really inspired me. Everything just flowed naturally for me while there, no hangups or pauses to figure this or that out. It took three months when I got home to finish the book working on it part time. It is still waiting for revisions and editing...

Maxinquaye

That cheeky buggerer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
maxoneverything.wordpress.com