Certification - worth it or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Technoscribe

Newbie here... please be gentle. :flag:

I'm trying to make the transition from electro-mechanical engineering technician to technical writer. I've written a good dozen instructional & procedural documents as part of my duties as a tech, but because I never held the title of tech writer I don't think I'm being taken seriously. (Plus I struggle with self-marketing being a die-hard introvert.)

I have a BA in Liberal Arts and over a decade of technical experience, but just can't seem to get my foot in the door as a writer. There are a number of "tech writer certificates" out there, and some look pretty decent. Would a cert help me gain some cred as a writer? And, has anyone tried the online certification sites? Do tell.

Many thanks.

Vanessa

Writer and Music Producer
Registered
Reaction score
My lil' 2 cents:

I've written a good dozen instructional & procedural documents as part of my duties as a tech,

I think this is a start. And I think your electro-mechanical engineering experience is also a start and well qualifies you to write technical material. Writing is the best way to get in. Just keep writing. You could mention the material you've already written in your queries. However, the choice is up to you as to whether you want a certification. Only you know how well your writing is. Although having a tech writer certificate is helpful, it still doesn't guarantee anything. Your writing ability and persistence is the key.

I have a BA in Liberal Arts and over a decade of technical experience
Another Plus!

Wishing you the best.

Mac H.

Board Visitor
Registered
Reaction score
I've employed a tech writer or two for short projects, and I've no idea if they've been certified - or what that even means.

For the short projects that I've been involved with, it's usually been the case that I've had a software package or a box that has needed a user manual or service manual.