Query from abroad - mention nationality?

dgaughran

Banned
Reaction score
Website
davidgaughran.wordpress.com
Hi all,

I am an Irish writer, submitting to the US. Most agents I am looking at don't seem to care where their writers live and accept international queries, and I had no problems when I submitted the last draft.

However, since then, I have moved to Sweden. Should I mention that I am Irish in the query letter (as my address will be Swedish)? The reason I ask is that I would like the agent to know that English is my mother tongue and I am not attempting to bash out a novel in a foreign language.

Is this a stupid question? Will the agent not care and just look at the writing? What do you US writers who are living abroad do? Do you mention you are from the US?

Regards

Dave

Theo81

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.atrivialblogforseriouspeople.blogspot.com
Well, I'm Welsh, living in Ireland and I will be mentioning this in my Q to UK agents. It's part of my identity and it's what I tend to put in a single line Bio. If you think it is important and you want them to know, then do it.

BrooklynLee

Got the hang of it, here
Registered
Reaction score
The idea of an Irish writer living in Sweden is interesting enough to me to include just for that. But because it also hammers home that English is your native tongue, I think mentioning it would be good -- towards the end of the query, after you've sold them on your book idea.

Ryan_Sullivan

Agented YA Writer
Registered
Reaction score
Whichever is probably fine. If your book uses anything that is specific to geography or any subject that could be affected/enhanced by nationality, you might want to mention it. But, really, the work should stand on its own, so it doesn't matter.

mairi

E-pubbed author
Registered
Reaction score