• Read this: http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?288931-Guidelines-for-Participation-in-Outwitting-Writer-s-Block

before you post.

Getting Over Writer's Block (Moved from Novels)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Forestqueen808

What can I say? I'm a writer
Registered
Reaction score
I'm living in a shack with my characters.....
Hi All!

So, I've been working on....four novels. One is being written, the others, rewritten. But I just can't write. I really FEEL like writing, I WANT to write. But nothing will come to me. I keep starting ideas and when it comes to rewriting them and making them great, I just can't. How do I get over writer's block? I feel like my life is worthless without writing, but for some reason I just CAN'T write right now, its been this way for a month or two. Help?

10trackers

Pollyanna, Shedder of Casual Blood
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Ah, I know how that feels. I've been there. Not lately, though, as I've managed to apply some structure to my writing.

What works for me, is just write, even if it's bad. Keep writing. Get the words flowing, even if just a couple of hundred per day. Make it a habit. They will start to get better.

caromora

Still alive. Kind of.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
inkstaind-stars.livejournal.com
It's okay not to write. Some people can write through blocks; other people can't. If writing through it doesn't work, give yourself permission to not write for a while. Fill your time with other interesting and creative things. Go for long walks. Go to museums, or concerts, or movies. Read good books. Try a genre you don't normally read, or dig into some non-fiction. Get a journal. Make collages. Take up flamenco dancing.