PDA

View Full Version : Museum Exhibit ??

profen4
09-23-2010, 05:09 PM
I'm trying to think of an interesting Museum exhibit that would:

a) be valuable enough for dangerous people to want to steal
b) not be egyptian or jewels, (I am trying to think of something original) but it does have to appeal to thieves, so it has to be something that has street value.
c) ideally NOT something kids would find the least bit interesting, and that it would be targeted for theft seems ridiculous (to them).

Thanks guys. I've been to a few museums in the last couple days and I'm not seeing anything theft-worthy.

MissMacchiato
09-23-2010, 05:15 PM
hmm. Street value is hard. A lot of things simply wouldn't be possible to resell, so that cuts out pretty much any painting.

Buddha heads from Thailand are worth quite a bit, and they're frequently looted.

Does it have to be from a particular country? I have a masters in museum studies so I should be able to think of a few things if you give me the constraints that you want to within :)

lbender
09-23-2010, 05:32 PM
Something that kids might find unappealing, but have significant value - how about old first editions of Dickens novels, an old O Henry manuscript, things like that. Whether they might actually exist isn't necessarily relevant as long as you're writing fiction and there are always stories about the odd collector who might pay a fortune for them.

If we're sticking to fiction, you might as well invent an original handwritten copy of Romeo & Juliet in Shakespeare's hand...although some kids might find that interesting.

Ferret
09-23-2010, 05:35 PM
A fossil might work. You couldn't sell it on the street, but if you had an interested buyer, some could go for a lot. Some kids would find some fossils interesting, but I'm sure you could find a boring one that no kid would care about.

profen4
09-23-2010, 05:38 PM