PDA

View Full Version : Teaching First Graders...

ebennet68
09-23-2010, 01:46 AM
I am a first grade teacher. My favorite time of the day is our Writer's Workshop. (Gee, I wonder why?) Anyway, I was conferring with one of my students. She wrote down that she was sad. I asked her, "How do you know you were sad?" She said, "I was crying and my heart hurt." I said, "You should write that instead of just saying you were sad." She said, "Okay," then happily skipped off to fix her story. It just got me to thinking: How bad is it that a six year old gets show don't tell when their teacher (and so many others) has a hard time with it? Anyway, was a good day in our writer's workshop.

Mistress Elysia
09-23-2010, 11:06 AM
I have this with my kids, too. I teach 11 - 16 year olds English, and obviously creative writing is my favourite bit to teach (well, alongside Gothic Literature... and, well, Literature in general... and media... and - oh, hell. Everything is great, bar teaching grammar!). My Year 7s (the 11 year olds) are doing a piece right now where they have to describe a beach, using all 5 of their senses to show me, not tell me, what it's like to there. From this, I am getting lovely (if childish) turns of phrase about 'the salty air flowed up my nose and my head began to spin' - possibly a little crude in its execution, but lovely at the same time.

Then we fast forward 5 years, to my Year 11s (the 16 year olds). They haven't started their descriptive writing yet, so here's an example from last year:
'Then they sat down and were sad. He looked at her and sniffed. She felt sadder.'