What is the 'standard' agent commission?

iwannabepublished

working hard - hard at work?
Banned
Reaction score
I know this is way premature, but I have a question - what is the standard commission an agent charges a new author? An agent requested the first 40 pages of my manuscript and then asked for the complete manuscript. I'm still waiting to hear back. I've read through pages of posts here about this agent and found that a few years ago he began charging 20% for domestic sales and 25% for foreign. That sounds like a lot, but then again I am a new author. If I (ha ha) do get the the point of being offered a contract, is it wrong to attempt to negotiate the commission?

cspradbery

Best before 1998
Registered
Reaction score
I have seen a few (very few) agents here in the UK who are asking 20% for domestic. My agent (at a very large London agency) charges 15% domestic and 20% overseas which seems to still be standard in most places. I was worried that because of their size and contacts they might ask for the higher figure, so was pleasantly surprised.

In terms of negotiating, unless you have multiple offers, I think it would be a mistake.

Good luck!

Last edited:

Irysangel

She of Many Names
Registered
Reaction score
I have only heard of 15% and 25% (for foreign).

It never hurts to negotiate. How the agent handles the negotiations will probably tell you a lot about your ability to work together as well.

Julie Worth

What? I have a title?
Registered
Reaction score
The Nancy Coffey Agency charges 20% domestic and 30% foreign (or used to). Fortunately that's rare. The normal rate is 15/20.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Even 15/20 is a lot higher than it should be, but it is, unfortunatelty, the current standard. Anything above this is theft.

Twizzle

Cluck that.
Registered
Reaction score