Should i keep my Agent?

rlepp

Registered
Reaction score
Quick Question for you all, I'm new here. I'm a small time writer and illustrator of childrens books and comic books.

I solicited a publisher with my new graphic novel at the same time that I solicited an agent. The agent loved the book and has several publishers interested. He takes a percentage.

Just heard that the publisher I approached also like the book and is offering a contract.

Question:
Is there ever a reason to keep your agent even though they didn't contact the publisher? Are there ever grounds to renegotiate the percentage based on the fact that I made the contact with the publisher who's offering?

The general answer may be "yes the agent can negotiate a better advance", however in comics there are often no advances at all. So what's the gain?

thoughts? thanks for reading!

-rlepp

BenPanced

THE BLUEBERRY QUEEN OF HADES (he/him)
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Right now, you have a contract with your agent so I'd say you have an obligation to let them know you've been contacted by the publisher.

rlepp

Registered
Reaction score
Nothing is currently signed, and we've talked about this other publisher. He knows I may back out.

ChaosTitan

Around
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kellymeding.com
Generally, you query either editors or agents--not both at the same time. But as that ship has sailed, ask yourself this question: do I want an agent to help me build my career, or can I do that on my own?

An agent is your career advocate. They can open doors to publishers you may not have access to and help negotiate better deals for you. If you think this graphic novel is a one-time thing for you, maybe you don't need an agent. But if you wish to continue writing/selling graphic novels, you may want to consider keeping this agent relationship.

At this point, it comes down to your personal career goals.

suki

Opinionated
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score