When do I talk about a sequel?

amyashley

Stunt-Writer
Registered
Reaction score
I am currently compiling my agent list as my MS sits with my beta readers and my query seems to have reached it's full potential. I'm about ready to go shopping! Of course, there will probably be a few final revisions, but it looks like this one is well on it's way.

I am eager to get things started on my sequel, which I already have begun some research on. I haven't started taking notes or anything yet, but since I do most of my outline mentally, I have a good concept laid out. I know I am looking at a trilogy.

My question is when should I bring this up with an agent? I didn't mention it in the query. It seemed pretentious because the books aren't written yet. The first book can stand alone anyway. I didn't think it would factor into a book deal since I was a first time author either.

Mr Flibble

They've been very bad, Mr Flibble
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
We couldn't possibly do that. Who'd clear up the m
Website
francisknightbooks.co.uk
'While this book stands alone, it has series potential'
Don't work on the sequel (other than in your head/notes) till you sold this one. Cos if you don't sell this one....

The again, people have sold whole series. Depends on your genre.

Have something else up your sleeve is always good though.

Steam&Ink

sekrit superhero
Registered
Reaction score
Bottom-right hand side of the map. Tucked away dow
Website
steamandink.blogspot.com
I am currently compiling my agent list as my MS sits with my beta readers and my query seems to have reached it's full potential. I'm about ready to go shopping! Of course, there will probably be a few final revisions, but it looks like this one is well on it's way.