A Human Bone in the Ocean

backslashbaby

~~~~*~~~~
Registered
Reaction score
I need the following scenario:

A girl finds a bone brought up to a beach on the water.

It shouldn't have flesh on it. She needs to wonder how recent it is.

She needs to wonder whether it's human.

An authority or older person needs to know quickly that it could be human.

I need to be able to decribe it. I'm thinking a bone in the arm? Maybe from a body a month dead? The bone's owner, a girl, commited suicide in the ocean.

Any help is appreciated. I especially can't figure out the color/texture combined with a time of death.

I probably need to know whether other parts would have been found for sure. I'd like it to be the only part found, and I can change the time of death if necessary. The suicide girl could have weighted herself down, etc -- she just needs to be an ocean suicide.

Thanks for any thoughts!

frolzagain

Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert on this but I think i takes a fairly long time for flesh to completely decompose from bodies in the ocean. I did a quick google search and found tha bodies tend to sink for a few days to a few weeks (depending on the amount of bacteria in the stomach) then float back to the surface. I think those bodies are usually intact at around a month. I would think a body would need at least 6 months to a year to completely loose the flesh. I think water logged bones tend to have a greyish color over top of the normal cream bone color, although I may be just remembering that from tv. Bone is very porous and can absorb many micro-organisms that are found in the water. Sometimes they use the orgaisms to try and date bone material. I think it's possible for a single bone to get seperated from a corpse but if a missing person is involved they may do a search for the body.

thothguard51

A Gentleman of a refined age...
Registered
Reaction score