Maple Trees

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheIT

Infuriatingly Theoretical
Registered
Reaction score
I'm looking for information about maple trees and harvesting sap for syrup and sugar. I've found some technical descriptions, but I was wondering if anyone had any personal experiences or details they could add.

My fantasy WIP has magical maple trees and I'd like to have a better understanding of the reality of a maple harvest before I "wave my magic wand" and make reality fit my story.

Saanen

Registered
Reaction score
I have no personal experience--I don't think we have sugar maples here in the south--but if I may quote from Shirley Jackson's hysterically funny autobiography Raising Demons (she also has another one named Life Among the Savages), here is her account of making maple syrup: