Vanity Presses, Self-publishing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

brainstorm77

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I know that IUniverse and the many others are considered vanity presses, but is it still considered self publishing? I'm asking because it made me wonder from another thread about self-published books...

Thoughts? I'm curious how you classify pay to play.

azbikergirl

I really do look like this.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
fantasyauthor.blogspot.com
IMO vanity publishing isn't the same as self-publishing. Self-publishing is for writers who want to build a name for themselves as authors but choose (for whatever reason) not to hand over control of their books to a publishing company. Vanity publishing is for those who want to see their name on a book and be able to say, "I'm a published author."

Sometimes, writers who want to build a career as an author wind up publishing through a vanity press, either accidentally or because they believe that publisher is their best option.

brainstorm77

Registered
Reaction score
I ask because I read a book from their that has had moderate success. I know that publishing with a VP is a no no.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
iUniverse is a serivce that will print and vend any text submitted to them uncritically and exactly as received--whatever you want to call that.

brainstorm77

Registered
Reaction score
And they are ran by Authorhouse right?

jana13k

Yep. I can.
Registered
Reaction score
There is usually an easy way to tell the difference. Vanity publishers often charge large up-front fees for the right to publish. Self-publishing takes a share (less than the author's) of the work the author publishes. Money spent is often done with editors, artists, etc. beforehand. The bulk of money from self-publishing flows to the author. Money should ALWAYS flow TO the author in legitimate publishing.