PDA

View Full Version : looking for beta reader for short stories, I just figured out what a beta reader was..

Stanelle
09-01-2010, 07:02 PM
Anyone willing to take on an unpaid job as a beta reader for a Deaf lady,..who writes in midlands Ohio accent in Deaf dialect and has a lot to learn about writng the English language properly?

I have a few local interest stories, which need upgrading.

...Stanelle

CACTUSWENDY
09-01-2010, 07:15 PM
I'm glad you know now what a beta reader is. :) I do have a question. Because you are deaf, does that make it a different way of writing? :Shrug: I was not sure what you made a point of pointing that out. Thanks for the insight. ;)

Stanelle
09-01-2010, 08:43 PM
My Deafness makes a big difference in the way that I write. Most Deafies read and write on a fourth grade level or less. I do a bit better than that as I am a college graduate and I was eleven when my hearing loss came about. I've heard the English language as it is spoken. I, now, see the English language as it is spoken on other folk's lips.

Most Deafies see the English language as it is written in books,..their school text books. Since most Deaf high school graduates read on a fourth grade level or less,..and have never HEARD a spoken language,..their command of the English language leaves quite a bit to be desired!!

Also, quite a few Deaf folks are not using the English language as their primary spoken language. These Deafies use American Sign Language as their primary language and this language, also known as ASL, is not spoken with the mouth.

ASL is spoken on the hands. This means that a deaf person is visually oriented as to their language capabilities and not sound oriented. If you cannot use your ears for communication purposes, you use your eyes.