Will word count send me to the trash bin?

amyashley

Stunt-Writer
Registered
Reaction score
Finishing up the last bits this week and I am trying to beef up the book as much as I can. I am a sparse writer, and I did NOT go into lengthy details in this book for a number of reasons. It's a cross between humorous mommy type women's fiction and urban fantasy. I'm going to estimate that it will end up at just under 70,000.

I'm beginning to worry that I won't get any requests simply due to word count! Is this going to be a problem? I don't want to ruin the book by adding in crap it doesn't need.

Chris P

Likes metaphors mixed, not stirred
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
70K seems about fine to me, especially for humor. From what I've seen here, that word count shouldn't be a problem.

Sleigh88

;)
Registered
Reaction score
I think you're fine. I know adult fiction generally runs a little longer than that, but I'm sure 70K isn't going to get you an automatic rejection--especially if your query and sample are really strong. Ultimately, agents just want to rep an awesome novel! :)

(But I totally hear you about WC insecurities. I'm beating my head into a wall because I'm nowhere near finished on my YA novel and I'm pushing 70K. Lots of that will go when I edit, but *sigh* and *grumble* and *worry* and all that.)

Last edited:

tanglewoodtracey

Loves a good trainwreck
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.traceygarvisgraves.com
Finishing up the last bits this week and I am trying to beef up the book as much as I can. I am a sparse writer, and I did NOT go into lengthy details in this book for a number of reasons. It's a cross between humorous mommy type women's fiction and urban fantasy. I'm going to estimate that it will end up at just under 70,000.

I'm beginning to worry that I won't get any requests simply due to word count! Is this going to be a problem? I don't want to ruin the book by adding in crap it doesn't need.