Greek speakers?

fredXgeorge

I heart sexy elves and wizards.
Registered
Reaction score
My current WIP is about three Siren sisters and I want to use their actual names (or some that I've found as I've found different variations and stuff). I have a general idea but I want to make sure I know the correct way to say them so just need an easy-to-understand pronunciation. TIA!

Aglaope
Peisinoe
Thelxiepeia

Jack Newcastle

Certified Malcontent
Registered
Reaction score
Website
thecad.net
I can get around with Greek, and used it a bit in my novel. I'm not an expert, and am unfamiliar with the names, but I'd probably go with:

Ag-LA-o-pay (Greek 'g' is at the back of the palate and a little open. Like you're gargling)
Pey-SI-no-ay
Theel-XI-pi-ya (Greek 'X' is again at the back of the palate, but with more air than the 'g'.

Hope that helps. Learning a bit about the IPA is invaluable.

Regards,

Jack

fredXgeorge

I heart sexy elves and wizards.
Registered
Reaction score
Thanks. That's pretty similar to what I had in mind. I major in Ancient Civilisations so I have some idea of Greek names but I don't study mythology til second year. I've bookmarked that IPA page.

bertrigby

Dysfunctional dystopian
Registered
Reaction score
The 'x' in this case is ξ rather than χ (Θελξιέπεια). That's a 'ksi', which makes an x sound like in English. Also, ιε is not a diphthong so it would be pronounced separately. 'Thelxiepeia' becomes 'thel-ksi-EH-paya' or 'thel-ksi-EH-peeya' if you're going with a modern Greek pronunciation.

Similarly you'd have 'agh-la-OH-pee' in Modern Greek (η is an i/ee sound along with lots of other vowels! - and the stress is on the omicron) and 'pee-see-NOH-ee'.

Of course it's entirely up to you whether you go for a modern Greek or Erasmean pronunication for Ancient Greek names. Neither is more correct, and it just depends what you're more comfortable with.