the eyes of the dead

OneWriter

Ubi dubium ibi libertas
Registered
Reaction score
I started reading the black echo last night and the dead body has contracted pupils, which surprised me; I always thought pupils were dilated in the dead? Isn't that one of the signs of brain death?

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
Thinking back to a long ago autopsy watched in class...

Yes. Pupils dilate at death because the muscles relax. There's nothing to make them reactive to light.

I'm no expert, but there are conditions that cause muscles to lock up, even after death. Perhaps the person's C.O.D. caused a spasm in the muscles of the eye that made them contract. Or, it could be a typo on the writer/editor's part. They meant dilated and put down contracted. (I've seen typos like that with coagulant/anti-coagulant, and it seriously changes the dynamic of what happened in the body.)

Rowan

Registered
Reaction score
I started reading the black echo last night and the dead body has contracted pupils, which surprised me; I always thought pupils were dilated in the dead? Isn't that one of the signs of brain death?

I had to research this for one of my WIPs too... :) This is interesting (page 9): http://www.parkview.net/mainmenu/teachers/science/speterson/BioDeath09%20WP.pdf

The best answer: http://www1.apsu.edu/oconnort/3220/3220lect03.htm