PDA

View Full Version : agents for cross-genre book

amyashley
08-28-2010, 10:52 PM
Perhaps I am very thick headed, and I am only beginning to compile my agent list for sending queries (going out in a few weeks), so maybe I'm just not finding them. Is there a good way to find agents who are actually interested in cross-genre books?

For the record, my book is written to target a specific niche market, and it can't really be edited to "fit" into one genre or another. It would ruin the book.

Let me state that my current method of looking for agents is akin to stumbling around blindfolded in the dark looking for pins scattered in the shag carpet.

Should I just look for agents who like books in all the genres it seems to cover?

BrooklynLee
08-28-2010, 11:59 PM
That's what I would do -- find an agent that is interested in all of the multiple genres. Check out agentquery.com, you can search agents by the genres they are interested in, and use that to narrow down your search.

Danthia
08-29-2010, 04:49 PM
Ditto. You could also take a step back and look at your book in a more broad sense and see what other books are like it in some way. See what agents rep those books. For example, if an agent has a lot of cross genre books on their client list you know they like and are good at selling, those types of books.

amyashley
08-29-2010, 10:06 PM
Thank you very much to both of you. There are no other books that cover similar genres, although I feel the market is very much ripe for it.

I've been perusing agents using agentquery and am having much better luck than simply randomly looking at bogs and agent sites. There seem to be many who are interested in cross genre books as well as what I have.

My book is a comical chick-lit, urban fantasy combination with a dose of mystery. It is primarily aimed at moms, but will appeal to many others due to the humor. I've never even heard of anything like this

Corinne Duyvis
08-30-2010, 03:34 AM