PDA

View Full Version : How long to 'train' for a physical feat. And good ideas for feats, please

backslashbaby
08-28-2010, 12:02 AM
I haven't settled on an age for the character, but probably 30-ish.

I need the character to choose a few strength or flexibility, etc, moves that are impressive and difficult. The character practices whatever these are on his/her own (definitely). I want the character to master them.

So, what are some good choices that don't take years to master? I considered speed, too, but I know nothing about how long that takes to master.

Pushups? Splits? Cooler than that, though. They can be from any discipline... just impressive.

Thanks :) It'll probably be a female MC, but I'm not sure yet, so please don't limit any ideas to 'impressive for a girl' or anything like that.

alleycat
08-28-2010, 12:34 AM
Yoga? Pilates? Tai chi is maybe a bit too tame, but there might be an advanced practice (I'm not an expert). One of the Olympic events, such as cross-country skiing or skiing and shooting (I've forgotten what the official name of it is).

benbradley
08-28-2010, 01:51 AM
Do you mean biathlon? The (non-Olympic) event of running and bicycling was also called biathlon but was renamed to duathlon so as not to be confused with the Olympic Biathlon.

How about something like this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MgkDO30n_hg
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJRBboFXWno

Start off easy (and skinny and young, apparently):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJD_F_kMdSs

Leg and hip weight/strength training will surely help greatly for this. If your character is a bit pudgy, have her go on a strict diet and build up to distance running to lose weight. She can do it, I KNOW she can! :D

Ben, off to take a jog...

Chase
08-28-2010, 02:05 AM
Training to be a biathlete is nothing compared to the rigors of training to be a cat-skinner, because--as you know--there's more than one way to do it.

thothguard51
08-28-2010, 03:06 AM