what to do with my movie-minded agent

billyshake

Recovering TV Writer
Registered
Reaction score
Hi folks. I'm in a bit of a sticky situation with my agent. We've been working together, off and on, for 16 years and we're great friends (cocktails to camping trips, we spend a lot of time together and run in the same circle of friends). The problem is that he became my agent back when I was a television writer -- though he and his ilk are technically called 'lit agents,' it's really just a tv and film writers agency.

So back in 06, I quit television, sold all my stuff, and left Hollywood to focus solely on my novel writing -- nothing sucks the creativity out of a fella like writing bad network television! I've maintained a friendship with the agent, though, and he's excited to read a draft of my (almost finished) book. I've pitched the story to him and he loves it...and he focuses the conversation SOLELY on movie rights! Of course it would be nice to do so, but I honestly don't give a hell about that right now. I keep asking him about publishers and he says that publishers will come after he sells the rights. "Don't worry, it happens all the time!" he tells me.

I don't want to look the G-horse in the teeth -- and god knows I need the money these days -- but I wanted out of Hollywood specifically to write my own stuff and now it seems even my novel will be subjected to all the ugliness which I thought I'd escaped.

Advice? I don't want to submit to other agents without him knowing, but I truly don't want to go down this Hollywood road.

Giant Baby

Oh, the humanity.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Does your agent have the appropriate publishing connections, or are most of his connections in LA?