• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Offer to read queries and partials

Status
Not open for further replies.

caitief

Registered
Reaction score
This offer is currently closed. If I have your query and partial, I will get to yours, but am not accepting any until I am caught up

In 2009, I graduated with a degree in Publishing Studies from Hofstra University. It is really hard to get a job right now, and it seems even harder in the publishing industry. I am currently working as a proofreader for a pharmaceutical company, but would like to keep working with books of any and all genres. I have interned for Hachette Book Group and Writers House

At Writers House, I read query letters, partial manuscripts, and full manuscripts that were sent to the general submissions and also ones sent to a specific agent. I commented on all materials received and sent a recommendation to the agent's assistant whether we should reject or ask to see more. I also wrote full reports for the assistant. After reading full manuscripts, I wrote editorial letters to suggest changes the author could make to make the novel more suitable for that agent.

Here is my proposal.