Include in a book query?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoshW

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.purevolume.com
I am currently a college student, working on a double-major in Creative Writing and Literature. I'm a junior, and I have a 4.0 GPA. (Adjusted GPA would actually be above 4.0, but my school doesn't give adjusted GPAs.)

I've been published in my University's literary magazine.

I will soon be looking for an agent to represent my first book (a middle-grade adventure story with pirates and all that good stuff), so would I want to include any of that information on a query letter? Or would that make me seem amateurish?

katiemac

Five by Five
Registered
Reaction score
Not to dismiss everything you've accomplished, the only part of the above potentially worth mentioning is your publishing credit in the lit mag. The double major certainly woudn't hurt you, but it can sometimes sound a little, as you say, amateurish. But it's all in how you make it sound, and if your pitch is good, including neither one of these things will hurt you. If your pitch is bad, they won't help.

Last edited:

JoshW

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.purevolume.com
It seems to me like college experience might not be worth mentioning until I've graduated. Once I have the degrees, it would probably look a little better. I'd still be kind of hesitant to include it, even though I'm proud of the achievement.

nickspalding

Registered
Reaction score
Only ever include published credits. Things you've had professionally published - and nothing else.

Anything else comes across as amateur. It's great you've got good grades, but it won't count for anything in an agent's or publisher's eyes.

NiaR

Bibliophile
Registered
Reaction score
Website
niaraie.livejournal.com