"Wore" or "Was wearing"

DannySherbet

Wellversed in procrastination.
Registered
Reaction score
I suspect this will be obvious to the more experienced writers on here, but, without wishing to appear like a complete novice, please can someone tell me which of these is correct (third party, past tense).

'He looked at the girl. She was wearing a flowery dress and some sunglasses.'

or

'He looked at the girl. She wore a flowery dress and some sunglasses.'

Thanks. Danny.

Reaction score
Both are technically correct, but 'was wearing' is a form of the verb to be, which is frowned on if it's used too much. Purely from a stylistic point of view, I'd go for 'wore'.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Either is correct. "Was wearing" is the past progressive tense, for something which took place and continued. Usually it's best reserved for contrasting an ongoing activity with one that took place at the same time and is in straight past tense.

Examples:
Maryn was shucking a dozen ears of corn when the power failed. (My shucking was a continuous activity taking place when another action occurred.)
Maryn was writing her reply when Scarlet posted. (My writing was going on while Scarlet hit Post Quick Reply.)

Maryn, clear as mud

Reaction score
I bow to Maryn's wisdom. I knew there was a proper name for this, and 'past progressive' is it.

DannySherbet

Registered
Reaction score
Both are technically correct, but 'was wearing' is a form of the verb to be, which is frowned on if it's used too much. Purely from a stylistic point of view, I'd go for 'wore'.

Thank you. You've helped with a sentence I've been agonising over all day.

DannySherbet

Registered
Reaction score
Either is correct. "Was wearing" is the past progressive tense, for something which took place and continued. Usually it's best reserved for contrasting an ongoing activity with one that took place at the same time and is in straight past tense.

Examples: