PDA

View Full Version : Body in a pool.

barnicus
08-14-2010, 09:03 PM
If a body was stabbed thoroughly and left in a pool. At the beginning the blood would be flowing out and making the water red. But what if the body wasn't discovered until 24 hours later? Would the water appear to be turned black from the dried blood settling on the pool floor? I expect that regardless of the time, the body would still be floating as well, true?

I want to describe this scene correctly. Thanks.

Maryn
08-14-2010, 09:36 PM
I'm not a doctor or a CSI person, but I'll take a stab at answering, pun intended.

The body will sink fairly quickly and be found lying in the bottom of the pool until the gases formed by decomposition bring it to the surface. How quickly that happens depends on temperature. Warmer = faster.

The blood originally visible in the water might settle at the bottom, if the water is still, but assuming the pool has the usual automatic filtration system, the motion of the water through the filters will essentially stir the water enough to disperse the blood until it cannot be seen, although I imagine it could be detected chemically.

Maryn, sitting back to wait for experts to tell her she guessed wrong

RJK
08-14-2010, 09:37 PM
The blood would dissipate throughout the water, depending on the quantity of water to blood ratio, you might get some pink tinge (you'd be mixing < 8 quarts with moderate size pool of 15,000 gallons the blood/water ratio would be 8/60,000 or .0001333). The blood wouldn't settle or dry in the water.

Depending on how much air is left in the body's lungs, it will sink, either partially, or all the way to the bottom as the air escapes from the lungs. 24 hours isn't enough time for putrefying gas to accumulate inside the body to cause it to float. That will take several days.

Chase
08-14-2010, 11:05 PM