• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Beta Reader needed: 60000 word Romantic Suspense

Status
Not open for further replies.

bglashbrooks

Currently editing for punctuation..
Registered
Reaction score
Website
bglashbrooks.webs.com
I'm in need of a beta to give me an honest and objective final read-through of a completed romantic suspense.

I'm an experienced writer (with an almost completed BA in Creative Writing, and minors in Non-fiction Writing and Psychology) who has an incredibly thick skin--especially when it comes to my writing. I have been writing seriously for 10 years, and professionally (non-fiction, though I do have several short fiction pieces published) for 5.

My novel includes characters that are FBI profilers and psychologists. They are hot on the trail of a murderer (victims are teen girls and young women) but do not know that one of their own people is after them! I have pared down or glossed over most of the graphic parts (it was originally 90K and very detailed but I've cut it to fit HQN's category lines and think it flows better).

What I am looking for is someone familiar with Rom-Suspense to tell me if it flows, if the characters are consistent, and if there are any typos that my thousand read-throughs have missed.

A line-by-line isn't necessary. I would also be more than willing to do a read-through for someone in exchange--provided it was in the same genre.

I am looking for someone who has the time to read it relatively quickly as I am wanting (hopefully) to start the submission to (the excerpt was at one time in SYW).

Last edited:

newshirt

Almost competint
Registered