PDA

View Full Version : What are the Unwritten Rules of Romance Writing?

ThetProf
08-09-2010, 03:40 AM
I was reading the "Tell me there's more to romance writing than formulas and Harlequin" thread and someone mentioned that the only "formula" was it had to have a HEA and a story about the relationship at the heart of the book. Are there other unwritten rules? (If there are written ones somewhere how do I get a copy?:)) I'm new to the game and though I've read a lot of romances, I of course tend to read authors I like so there's a lot out there I don't read. For instance, I don't read contemporary or paranormal (Twilight series I do confess to). But from my reading I have ideas about what is allowed and not allowed, just not sure how unconventional you can be in the changing market. Any help with this is greatly appreciated.

veinglory
08-09-2010, 03:50 AM
The 'rules' are to write what the publisher thinks their readers want to buy. IMHO that's all there is to it.

Stacia Kane
08-09-2010, 04:13 AM
I do think there's a LOT of leeway, yes. But I do also believe that there are some things that some romance readers simply aren't going to accept, or things that more readers will than won't, thus giving you a better chance at success. Frex, the heroine doesn't have to be a virgin but she shouldn't be a slut. She doesn't have to be a healer who loves puppies but she shouldn't be selfish or self-centered and she should like children. She shouldn't think nasty thoughts about other people unless they're horribly nasty first. There are quite a few of these if you check some of the romance blogs etc.

Again, that isn't to say that all romances MUST adhere to those unwritten rules. But you do have a greater chance of success if you adhere to them, IMO. There are some things romance readers simply will not accept; their biases or desire to read a certain type of story is simply too strong, and they have every right to only want to read certain types of stories or characters.