PDA

View Full Version : When do agents get interested?

Kenn
08-07-2010, 12:17 AM
I am relatively new to this game, so forgive my naivety.

I assume what interests an agent in a project is a combination of the likelihood of selling it to a publisher and the probable number of copies that might be sold. What is the typical percentage of projects that are accepted by agents that end up being published? What is the typical cut-off in terms of commission/ number of books sold when it becomes worth the agent's time?

Ryan_Sullivan
08-07-2010, 01:40 AM
Depends on the agent and how much they have going on and how they feel about a project. Agent's aren't really thinking about how many copies it'll sell--that's an editors problem. Agents are just looking for great books. Of course they want/hope/think what they sign will sell, but if they fall in love with a project and it doesn't sell, they're likely to keep going.

For me, my agent's worked with me through two books, for just about a year now and he's yet to get any money for it. It just depends on how they feel about the writer/project and how much time they can devote.

Kenn
08-07-2010, 03:58 PM