Differences between Horror and Thriller?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RumBucuresti

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone, new member here.
Can anyone identify what makes Horror different from a Thriller?
I know this might be an old question, but i did check through the older posts.
I boiled it down to "a supernatural element" or "lack of official/police involvement" with regards the killings before i gave up.

I am trying to write a Horror novel but really don't want to rely on a supernatural aspect as it feels to me a bit like a cop out. The trouble is, what i have written so far could almost be classed as a Thriller. I fear veering towards this territory as i have no police/detective experience or any relevant background in criminal psychology etc which might make my story appear lightweight/or just a boring serial killer book.

Writing in an apparant supernatural protagonist only for them to be unmasked in a scooby-doo type manner at the denoument seems to me like cheating or plain poor writing.

I have decided to keep police involvement to a minimum (hopefully circumnavigating the thriller-zone by copying the trick of some horror movies?) and will try concentrating on mood and the characters responses and reactions to the events in the book as a way of keeping it recognizably Horror.

Has anyone else come across this problem? does anyone have any simple tricks or tips?
A good story is a good story and different people would, i guess, classify it in different ways so does it even matter? Do i even understand my own question? ;)
I am ploughing on regardless anyway but would like to hear the opinions of others.

Apologies if there is a similar thread or if i have given anyone the impression i consider Horror as an-easy-to-write cousin of Thrillers, it wasn't my intention.
Kind regards, Rum.

preyer

excessively spartan
Registered
Reaction score