Absolute Neophyte Has Question About Queries

ThetProf

To write or not to write. . .
Registered
Reaction score
Hi. I'm new to both writing and Absolute Write and technology. Please bear with me! In March I sent out queries for a novel. Almost immediately got an email back from agent saying it was "absolutely compelling" and wanted the entire ms. Sent it off that day. Four months later I have not heard from her. I have sent an email with the current revision of the ms and finally (in July) sent what my daughter deems a "suck-up gift" with note saying I just wanted to touch base etc. Still no response. I know it takes a lot of time to get a response but can I go ahead and send out other queries while I'm waiting? I had another agent ask for the first three chapters in April which I sent, but told her I had already sent the full ms to someone else. Should I contact Agent #2 and ask if she's still interested? According to my research Agent #1 is from a reputable agency.

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
Keep querying.
This business can make glaciers look rapid.
You did not give agent 1 an exclusive (and even if you did it has long since passed its expiry date).
I suggest you query small groups of agents maybe 5 or 6 at a time. Don't worry about simultaneously querying, agents expect that authors will be sending to many agents.

ThetProf

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks. Will do. Is it ok to query two different books to different agents? They're both in the same subgenre, just different time periods.

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score

ThetProf

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks for all the info. Makes my life not easier but better able to cope!

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
As you are getting good responses from your queries clearly your query letter is doing its job, but you still might enjoy this site run by agent Janet Reid queryshark.blogspot.com

Twizzle

Cluck that.
Registered