Not open for further replies.

Susan Coffin

Tell it like it Is
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.strokingthepen.com
Hi Everyone,

I'm curious. Are there others here who write to make a living but are not published authors?

For example, I'm a paralegal. Daily I take facts and write them into true stories for everyone from our bosses (insurance companies) and anyone who is working on the case, so that all involved can understand the story, if you will. I create and write extensive letters on case facts and such, and many other kinds of documents. Writing is integral to my job. If I could not write, I would not have this job.

What kind of "non-publishable" writing do you do?

Does you work writing influence your creative writing?

jennontheisland

the world is at my command
Registered
Reaction score
I've written and edited technical specs and user manuals for wastewater treatment and drinking water facilities. My job was to take things written by engineers and make them readable by humans. Tough work, lemme tell ya. And sometimes you do have to be a bit creative in turning their epic 98 word sentences into smaller more understandable steps.

Now, I fully utilize passive voice every chance possible when writing monthly reports on construction progress.

Terie

Writer is as Writer does
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.teriegarrison.com
Now, I fully utilize passive voice every chance possible when writing monthly reports on construction progress.

Here, let me fix that for you:

Now, passive voice is fully utilized by me every chance possible when monthly reports on construction progress are written.

:D

I've been working as a tech writer for over 20 years. My first published book came out in 2006, but I still make my living with the day job.

Devil Ledbetter

Come on you stranger, you legend,
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score