Book recommendation on Cognitive Behaviour Therapy

e-quill

Registered
Reaction score
I am currently writing a sequel to a previous book about an ex soldier with post traumatic stress disorder [PTSD]. I am up to speed on PTSD itself but not its treatment, and my sequel is largely about his treatment for PTSD. I'm not a 'psychologist' or therapist of any sort, although I have a degree in rats-in-boxes type psych. and am au fait with the general literature. Unless someone can convince me of the error of my ways, I want to address my character's PTSD through Cognitive Behaviour Therapy [CBT]. Problem; I know next to nothing about CBT.

Question: Can you recommend a good book [or website] on CBT? i.e. a book you personally have read! I already have the Dummies CBT and their CBT Workbook. There must be something better!

'Good book' obviously begs a number of other questions but what I mean is a book written by a practitioner or professional rather than a wannabe or amateur; of a predominantly practical nature rather than mere theorising; and one that includes case studies.

If you know of a good/useful website I would be very grateful for the URL. I have visited the following;

http://ptsd.about.com
http://www.ptsd.va.gov
http://www.nimh.nih.gov
http://www.plosmedicine.org
http://helpguide.org
http://www.combatstress.org.uk

Apologies if this is in the wrong place! but this one sounded like it might fit the bill. Please advise if I should move it elsewhere. Many thanks for any help/advice.

Phyllo

Still sitting
Registered
Reaction score
"Mind Over Mood" by Greenberger and Padesky (it had been recommended to me several years ago). The authors are clinical psychologists and professors.

I confess that I read only part of the book (which includes exercises and worksheets), but it speaks in plain language, is persuasive and deals with nuts and bolts issues.

M.R.J. Le Blanc

aka Sadistic Mistress Mi-chan
Registered
Reaction score