PDA

View Full Version : Please tell me about your Beta experiences

BlueDimity
07-16-2010, 09:41 AM
Hello, I have been writing and working on my main MS for almost three years now, starting when I was 12.
I have been continually working on my YA Fantasy but I'm not sure if it's headed in the right direction. I wrote it in an odd setup that, well, works for me but I don't know if it would work for anyone else. It is like Charles DeLint's Little Grrl Lost, as it changes from differnt characters' POVs, though I do it more than he does.

So before trying to get a Beta reader again, I would like to know how it worked out for all of you.

I tried chapter swapping once but I hurt the other writer's feelings and then he didn't want to work with me anymore.

PortableHal
07-16-2010, 08:30 PM
We've had a variety of Beta experiences. We really think our fellow writers have always tried to provide honest insight on our work -- even if one Beta thought our project was horribly flawed and another thought it was publication-ready.

People is people and opinions vary. The feedback has helped us find weak spots in our work and we're grateful.

PortableHal
07-16-2010, 08:33 PM
Hit Enter too soon. Forget to say, the right Beta is a Godsend. We've had a couple of spectacular readers. After working with one of them, we contracted our first romance with Cobblestone Press.

Would we have gotten there, anyway? Maybe. But LB's experience as a romance writer and her advice on our manuscript absolutely helped us get there sooner.

Chris P
07-16-2010, 08:50 PM
Overall it's been about 25% helpful, as 75% of the time the beta vanishes. Of the betas I've found on AW, it's been about 50/50.

thewakingself
07-16-2010, 09:57 PM
My experiences have been mostly positive since I started writing toward publication about two years ago. But I'm in the camp that any feedback is good feedback, even if I don't entirely agree with it. So YMMV.